Since November, 2015, the Dag Hammarskjölds Backåkra Foundation has taken ownership of Backåkra from the Swedish Tourist Association, STF.
The Dag Hammarskjölds Backåkra Foundation was founded by the Swedish Academy, the Hammarskjöld Family Association and the Swedish Tourist Association, STF, with contributions from i.a. the Marcus and Amalia Wallenberg Foundation and Mr Klas De Vylder.
The Board
The members of the Board of the Foundation are
Chairman Peder Hammarskiöld, Hammarskjöld Family Association
Peder Nygårds, STF
Elinor Hammarskjöld, Hammarskjöld Family Association,
Jan Kleineman, Stockholm University, 
Randi Graungaard, Ystad Municipality.